Contact Us today for a

free case evaluation

click to call peter johnson avvo

New Changes to California Vehicle Code

Recently the Legislature passed a revision to California Vehicle Code section 13352. This law provides persons convicted of a 2nd DUI an opportunity to obtain a restricted driver’s license after a 90 day suspension (as opposed to one year) with the installation of an Ignition Interlock device. A restricted license is unavailable until after a six month suspension period for people convicted of a 3rd DUI. For repeat offenders with three or more prior DUI convictions, a restricted license is unavailable until after a 12 month suspension period.

The law went into effect on July 1, 2010. DMV stubbornly says the law only affects persons arrested after July 1. Attorneys are now fighting the DMV’s position in court. Early indications are that the DMV will have to retroactively apply the  law. For more information regarding this recent law change and other DUI laws, call 925-952-8900 or see our website at www.duilawyerwalnutcreek.com.

Leave a Reply